Little Miss Charlotte!!

Well, I am so happy to say that our little girl has finally made her arrival!  She made her debut after 40 weeks and 6 days, 21 hours of labor, and lots of patience and love!  Everything that I went through during my pregnancy, weeks of morning sickness, the hot summer here, and being diagnosed with SPD (Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction), was all worth it!

We went in on August 27th for a regular appointment.  We had figured that we would be induced in a few days if she hadn’t decided to come out on her own, but my doctor told us that we could come in later in the evening that day for induction.  So, we left the hospital, went and had a nice lunch, and went home to rest for a few hours.  Around 4pm that afternoon, contractions started on their own.  We got to the hospital around 7pm, and my contractions were 1 minute long and about 5 mins apart!  I was hopeful that we wouldn’t need Pitocin, and I could just labor on my own.

The nursing staff and midwives were amazing!  Besides being poked 9 times for my IV due to being a hard stick anyways and being super puffed like the marshmallow man, I got my IV and just had some fluids going.  By around 9pm I was at 5 cm and 80% effaced, contractions were now 90 seconds long and about 1 minute apart!  Holy cow, it was super intense!  I labored with contractions this close apart, for about 3 hours.  She was sunny side up, so with the contractions as close as they were for as long as they were, with the back labor, it was intense!  Not to mention the increased pain from the SPD, I gave in around 1130, and asked to get the epidural.  It was the best decision ever!  I was able to take a break, I was exhausted from the intense pain and progression.

My labor continued to progress quite well, I was at 7cm at 230am, and 90% thinned out.  Dad was able to take a much needed rest, ever time that I moved or made any noises he would shout, “are you ok?!” .  “Yes babe, I’m just eating ice chips!” or “I’m just moving!  Relax!!”.  Clearly he was just concerned!  I am sure he needed me to get that epidural too, it was a lot of work for him to support me, and watch me go through all that!

I was fully dilated at 0700am, fully thinned out, but she wasn’t turning or dropping.  We started to push at 1100am, and our beauty was born at 1223pm on August 28th!

Image

Charlotte Marie, 8 pounds 9.7 ounces, 21 inches long

We fell in love the second we saw her!  It was the most amazing experience we both have ever had!  Exhausting, but worth every second of lost sleep!  We came home after two days in the hospital, had a stead stream of family coming to visit her!  We feel so blessed to welcome her into our family!

Thank you all for your support!  I will be trying my best to keep blogging, and crafting!  It has been a challenge but I really love blogging about all the wonderful things that I create, and I will continue to do so, hopefully I will be able to do more of it as soon as things settle out a bit!

Leave a Reply

