Little Miss Charlotte’s Nursery is complete!

So this is a way past due post, I know!  A lot of work, love and time has been spent in the design of the room, but we loved the way that it came out!  Miss C is sleeping next to me as I write this!  I remember sitting in her room before she came and just day dreaming about holding her and rocking her in her room, watching her sleep, and changing all of those diapers!  Now that she is here, it’s such an amazing feeling to have her in this space!  It is such a calming place, very whimsical, and it is very organized and functional.

We wanted to create a space that she could grow into, something that wasn’t too childish but fun and interesting for a little one.  I wanted the room to be girly but not in your face girly, modern but classy.  Before we found out that we were having a little girl, I fell in love with a line of fabric, surprise haha!  I have a total fabric addiction, so I wasn’t too shocked, but I hadn’t bought any of it because I didn’t know what I would make with it.  Another shock, because I usually buy fabric that I love in hopes that I will find something to make with it.  I wrote the line down, in hopes that one day I would find something to use it for.  Well, I googled “Mermaid Nursery” in hopes of finding some inspiration.  Everything that I found was all Disney’s The Little Mermaid.  Blah, too expected and not whimsical like I hoped.  I was going through my crafty journal and found it, my saved fabric list!    Sarah Jane Studios designed Out To Sea for Michael Miller Fabrics, and it was everything that I was looking for!  I usually purchase all of my fabrics at fabric.com, I love their selection and prices, and shipping!  I selected a mix of the Deep Sea Jewel and Morning Coral from the collection, as well as a few other prints from Michael Miller to give it a good mix.

Now, some people may think that choosing a fabric line to design the room may be crazy, but I can tell you that it made it so easy for me!  I had a list of which colors and prints in the line that I loved, and from there I chose the paint color for the walls.  After painting some samples on the wall, we chose Kelly Moore Pool Party KM5046-1 for the main wall colors.  I ended up purchasing a few sample colors, which we used to paint some of the other elements in the room.  

editIMG_6814

I love the color on the walls!  It is so relaxing and inviting!  Soothing and calming, I have a hard time not getting sleepy in this room!  Dad painted two coats on the wall, and we love it.  Up there on the wall is a shadow box with a fabric pirate map inside that I previously posted about here.   The curtain panels I made using the coordinating fabric, and it gives the room a good pop of pink.  The  comfy glider was from Babies R Us, and the long coral down pillow is Calvin Klein from Home Goods.

editIMG_6798

On the left side of the window, is our lovely second had crib with toddler conversion that I bought from my best friend that was used by her girls.  I decided to make her bedding, of course I couldn’t just buy something!  I know that she won’t be using it for quite some time, but I had a vision, and I couldn’t be more happy with how it turned out!  I will be doing another post about the quilt in more detail soon!  It is a standard crib size, and I machine quilted large hexies in several different prints.  I was going to make some sheets as well, but found a darling under the sea print from Pottery Barn Kids that I fell in love with, plus who wants to deal with all of that elastic!  The wind chime was a last minute find also at PBK, it has mother of pearl like disks and a beaded pink starfish, when the breeze comes in it has such a soothing sound!  Above the crib is a wooden mermaid that grandma had found one day while cruising Home Goods.  originally, it was a bright barn red.  I had dad paint it with the left over paint sample that we had, and I couldn’t be more happy with that!  We used Kelly Moore Pretty Please KM5446-1.

editIMG_6799

 

This sign has a lot of meaning to me!  My husband surprised me and made this sign and it was presented to me at my baby shower!  My best bud had been in touch with him, and he designed and made it!  So impressed!  We used an old piece of fence boarding, white washed painted it with the Pretty Please pink paint.  He mixed baking soda and Elmer’s glue to make a paste, and he coated the rope, then used tiny sewing pins to nail it into place on the board.  It dried stiff, and has such a great look in the room!

editIMG_6803 editIMG_6800editIMG_6809editIMG_6805 editIMG_6804

 

On the other side of the room, we have our changing stations.  The closed one on the right was a matching piece to the crib, and originally we were just going to use that one and a dresser.  However once we decided to cloth diaper, I quickly realized that we were going to need another area to store and easily access her diapers.  Plus, if we just had the changing pad on top of the closed dresser, where was I going to put all of the other things like wipes and creams?! So this was a perfect solution for us!  I purchased the one on the left at Walmart, it was right around $80 shipped to the house.  I made the changing pad cover, it took forever!  So I just made that one!  I have others of course, but the contouring of the pad made it a little tricky to sew!  It’s really cute, I used the Narwhal print!  All of the baskets on the first shelf are from Home Goods, and the bottom ones I got on clearance at Target.  The baskets on top have all of our covers and inserts.  The bottom bins hold all of the pre-folds and fitted diapers.  I purchased a cheap pop top garbage can from Walmart for our diaper bin.  We love our wipes warmer and white noise machine!  We can plug an iPod into it, and it has a soft blue night-light which helps for late night diaper changes.

editIMG_6808 editIMG_6807

Now, at first I was worried that I wasn’t going to find decor that fit my vision.  I didn’t want cheesy, typical beach things, and I wanted it to be classy but not typical.    The circular swirl mirror was the first find, setting the inspiration for the whole wall.  And for a steal at $26 at Home Goods, it was a perfect match!  Floating shelves were a stream lined way of having just enough decor without it looking cluttered, plus all of the amazing Home Goods finds that I found I had to put somewhere!  I didn’t want to clutter up the top of the changing table, so for $12 each it was a great solution!  Plus they are up high enough to keep little curious hands away!

 

On the far left shelf, I hand embroidered some colorful anchors.  I just did an image search for anchors & coloring pages, and I found a group of several different types of anchors.  Hung it up in a shadow box for a cute hand-made piece of decor.

EditIMG_6825 editIMG_6824

On the last wall, we kinda struggled with what to do, as  I had some more art work and hand embroidered items, like the Narwhal  piece that I made.  We struggled with where to put it all, then finally decided that just because I made it wasn’t worth cluttering up the entire room.  So, we kept it simple.  The wall hanging was another, you guessed it, Home Goods find that I picked up during Easter time.  The hurricane vase with a etched “V” was a gift from Pottery Barn, filled with shells.  The lamp, mermaid and star fish frame were all from Home Goods.  During my shower, guests signed the frame for little Miss C!  They both need photos, now that I have a bunch I need to get on that!

 

editIMG_6812 editIMG_6810

 

editIMG_6823 editIMG_6822

Lastly, here is another embroidered piece that I worked on for this space.  My original idea was to make it into a pillow, but it fit perfectly into one of the shadow boxes that I picked up when they were on sale at Joann’s.

I downloaded the pattern from Sarah Jane’s Blog, there are a few other ideas over on her blog, check it out!  

editIMG_6821

 

This space is one that I have dreamed about making for so many years, and I am in love with the way it turned out!  There is nothing in there that I would change!  It is such a lovely space, it is organized and charming!

 

 

Leave a Reply

