Circus Shower for Baby Sax

This was such a fun event to plan!  It was set in a beautiful home, and we had beautiful guests!

I ordered the invites from Tiny Prints, which started things off right!  I searched Etsy, found a wonderful shop LeeLaaLoo, which does amazing digital files for any party need you have!  She was a pleasure to work with and I got my files quickly!  There were so many things in there!  Flags, banners, games, signs, photo props and more!  I got some generic printables and some customized ones.  I started printing!
I think that my biggest challenge when throwing an event like this is to control myself and to not go overboard.   Really.  I do.  Most of the time.  But hey it always turns out amazing!  Drive my husband nuts, but he knows me by now and how I get way involved!

 

I stuck with bright, bold colors.  I love my chalk board collection and chalk ink markers.  I use them for everything!  I have to admit I draw like a little kid, but I think that it turned out pretty cute!

IMG_8036

 

As the guests arrived they immediately would see the gift table.  I really wanted to make sure this just wasn’t some boring little table that all those little pretty packages would get plopped on.   The printable pack had a customized banner that we hung above the table.  We added a few fun balloons and I made some diaper cakes.  Who doesn’t love diaper cakes?!  I had some hidden intentions with these.  I love how they look.  Love.  Fun, bright, and packed full of goodies!  I used a pack of diapers for the bases, made some double-sided receiving blankets, and packed it with as many goodies as I could.  CJ’s Butter, Burt’s Bee’s, some Aden & Anais goodies and more.  Mama loved them, guests were impressed, my job is done!

 

 

IMG_8020

Isn’t this room amazing!  The room was full of light even though it was a rainy day.  I filled apothecary jars full of orange marshmallow peanuts, clown noses and red and white striped candies.  We used cheap raffle tickets from the dollar store as confetti giving the tables an additional pop.

 

IMG_7964

 

IMG_7959

 

IMG_7956

We raided the dollar store weeks before this shower, and we were lucky enough to find small plastic animals, rhinos, giraffe’s, lion’s, and tigers.  I have a wonderful, yet brave father in law who took on the task of spraying all of those little critters for me in a high gloss paint.  I couldn’t have been happier with how they turned out.

IMG_7965IMG_7971

 

This was my baby.  The first thing that I thought about when I was asked to do this shower was the dessert table.   I had so many ideas!  It was hard to pick and STICK with them!  I couldn’t be happier with the response that I had from this!

 

IMG_7960

I bought that darling white cupcake ferris wheel on amazon.  It was a little tough to get the cupcakes in and out, but who cares its cute!  Gum balls were used as a jar filler, and the table runner was a steal at Home Goods.

IMG_8017

Funfetti cupcakes, from scratch, no box mixes here.  Yummm-o.

IMG_8013

I also made animal cookie cake truffles.  They were so pretty and tasted so good!

IMG_8009 IMG_8008

We had a few extra animal cookies, used them as topper’s on Aunt Deb’s famous cheesecake bars.

IMG_7997

I really wanted to have a fun favor to give to our guests.  Not some cheesy little baby rattles or something that you throw in your junk drawer the second you get home.  Edibles are always a safe route.  Cotton Candy is one of those treats that you can usually only get at a circus or fair.  I didn’t think that it would be a possibility to have some fluffy sugar at the party, but I am blessed to live in the SF Bay Area, and I found a few places!  We decided on Sugar and Spun in San Francisco.    They came in those little tubs too.  Made it really easy!  The tags were also from the printable pack, tied off with some simple ribbons.  And I am sure that you are curious….Cookies & Cream and Strawberries & Cream where our flavors!  It was so yummy!

IMG_7991 IMG_7989 IMG_7987

In the weeks leading to the shower, I started drinking and giving away the Starbucks bottled drinks.  Saved those bottles and began taking off all of the stickies.  The printable pack had general and customized labels.   I mixed them both and used blue and yellow paper straws, filling them with blue sparkling drinks.

IMG_7988 IMG_7985 IMG_7982 IMG_7978 IMG_7977 IMG_7973

 

This was a great shower!  The theme was classic and sweet for my little nephew!  I can’t wait to plan another one of these showers, it was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

